top of page
  • Writer's pictureShayla

Things to Expect When Going Natural

When we first consider going natural we don’t think about every possible thing that can go into it. We see other people with their natural hair and automatically think, “Wow their hair looks amazing. Maybe I’ll go natural.” Little do we know, they're making it look a lot easier than it truly is. Although their hair looks nice, there are some embedded struggles. Personally, when I first thought about going natural, I thought it was so beautiful (still do) and that I just had to go natural. In the process of transitioning and going natural, I realized that was FAR from the truth. Even though going natural was a realization of my natural beauty and a way to get me out my shell, at the same time there was a lot to pay back. Today I'm here to take what I have learned over the year and share with you the reality of natural hair.


First, going natural you have to under that there is going to take some getting used to. Going natural takes a lot of work and time out of your day to truly take care of your hair. If you are coming from a relaxer, you might not be used to going above and beyond to take care of your hair. Sure you had to keep your hair moisturized to avoid extreme breakage, but you were still able to throw your hair in a bun and go about your day. As you go about being natural, you realize that you need to put in a little more effort when getting ready. If your hair is long enough you can pull it in a puff, but you have to be sure to moisturize your hair beforehand to reduce breakage and you want to be sure not to be too harsh. In addition to that, you have to be willing to do your hair or at least pay to get it done a few times a month. There are a few hairstyles that don’t require you to do as much work on a daily basis such as braids and what no but they do require some time to get done. For those with a TWA (teenie weenie afro) you can pull off finger coils, but once again they take some time to actually do. Keep in mind that the amount of time it takes for you to do your hair depends on your level of procrastination and even technique. Even though styling your hair can take some time to do, that’s not the only thing that takes time. Washing your hair can range from a few minutes of your day to even hours. After my big chop, my wash day routine was only a few minutes, maybe 20 minutes on a good day. Now that I have a little bit more hair and aim to retain my length, I can take up to an hour to wash my hair. On top those, finding products that work for you can take some time out of your day as well. Doing some research on new products can be essential when looking for products. Most of the products I have, I have done some research here and there to see what some other people think of the product before wasting money. Today, I try to love at YouTube to see int product in action and read reviews online before walking out the store with it. The last time-related thing not to expect is fast hair growth. I know I have mentioned this before topic before, but you have to remember that everyone’s hair grows are a different pace due to genes and their routine. If you feel as though your hair isn’t growing as fast as you want it to don’t feel discouraged to continue your journey.


Another expectation you should get rid of is imagining what you think your hair might look like. Through transitioning, big chopping, and a couple months of being natural your hair texture is bound to go through changes. As you're transitioning your hair might have a few loose curls due to the straighten ends. Then after your big chop, your hair slowly but surely becomes its natural self. When dealing with your hair you might end up having to find different products in each stage. What you used while you were transitioning might not work as well as you might want it to a couple months into being natural. When I first heard this I was thinking, “What are they talking about? If I big chop my hair is going to be natural so it’ll be the same months later.” Now I that I am here I am willing to admit I was completely wrong. Since my first day transitioning I ran through and tried numerous different products that really work for me.


The last expectation I want to eliminate is the thought that everyone is going to like it. Before you go running around and thinking everyone is gonna be proud of you and love your new look, I want you to know that might not be the case. In one of my other articles, "My Hair Journey" I shared how a couple family members weren’t too fond of my hair. Hopefully, this isn’t the case for you, but you never know. There are people in the world that hate change and love being in control of every little thing. Even if you have the slightest thought that people won’t like your hair but you want to go natural, DO IT! Your happiness is the only thing that matters and other people shouldn’t determine that for you. The love that your family and friends have for you shouldn’t change because you look a little different. If you have some friends that make negative comments about your hair constantly then maybe they were never your friends and it's time to make new ones. There is no reason to act that way over a haircut or other hair decision that has absolutely NOTHING to do with them. Regardless of whatever the situation may be, do whatever makes you happy. ☺

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

8 Common Mistakes Naturals Make

Despite the unconditional love we have for our kinks, we tend to make a few mistakes when it comes to caring for it. We don't pay much attention to what we put our hair through. Keeping in mind what I

bottom of page